The Shyness Project

Second Semester of College: Almost Complete

Well my second semester of college will be completed in less than two weeks.  2012 is certainly flying by; I can’t believe it’s May already.  It’s been an emotional and stressful year so far for me, but I’ve learned a lot from it.

I gave a presentation in women’s history class last Thursday which I was nervous about since I hadn’t had to do much of any public speaking in months, but it went really well.  Somehow I managed to not get panicky before my turn to present and spoke with ease and confidence, and made the class laugh too.  I’m glad that my speaking ability hasn’t diminished since I haven’t been up in front of anyone in a while.

I had to give a little presentation in my cinema class the week before too, which wasn’t a big deal to me either.  The girl behind me though came in late to class as we were watching a movie, and at the end the instructor asked her to give her presentation.  I could tell she was caught off guard and I heard her voice shaking and trembling like she was about to cry or have some sort of anxiety attack so I turned around quick and said, “Hey, would you rather do it next week?”  She nodded, so I called over to the professor, “Can she do it next week?”  He said sure (he’s a nice guy and a lot of people have been giving their presentations later than planned) and asked if she could give it Monday at 9 and she whispered, “Yes sir”, but he didn’t hear her so I told him that would be good.  She looked relieved and the instructor seemed to pick up on what was going on too and seemed glad that I was looking out for her.  It’s cool to be on the opposite side of things now and to help people out who have fears of speaking in front of the class.  Hopefully she will be ready to give her presentation this week and she won’t skip class because of it, but I had a feeling that if she had to give it that day that she might burst into tears up there or have some kind of anxiety attack.

Other than that I’ve been doing good.  I’ve been learning more about myself this year and am getting a better idea about what I want in life.  In August I’ll be moving out on my own with some friends to take classes at a different community college, so that will be exciting.  I think it will be a great experience for me.  Hope you are all doing well!

Single Post Navigation

20 thoughts on “Second Semester of College: Almost Complete

  1. A great way to use your developing skills! Hopefully that girl will use her extra time well.

    • Thanks Patti! I have a feeling she has a lot more going on besides mere shyness, but she was able to do a presentation before in that class so I’m sure that when she’s prepared and not caught off guard she’ll be ok!

  2. It’s so great that your public speaking skills are still on point! That is one stressful thing out of the way, eh? And how nice of you to help that girl how. Perhaps she will use those extra few days to be better prepared for her oral presentation. I was wondering, though how is it to take classes at different community colleges like that? Must be taking a lot of energy to get used to new faces, environnement, etc. each time. Personnally, my classes are always at the same places. I could go there with my eyes closed, probably. 🙂

    • It’s not too hard to take classes at both community colleges, I just familiarized myself with each of them and where my classes were before they started. Since they’re community colleges they are fairly small and not like a regular full sized college, so there’s not too much to navigate. It’s cool though meeting people from both colleges and getting involved in each! 🙂

  3. Grate job. Writing review will help and improve you much more. 🙂

  4. Barbara Markway on said:

    Oh, how nice that you were able to help that girl out!

    Congrats on finishing another semester!

    And I’m so excited for you moving out on your own (with some friends)!

    Keep blogging, even if it’s just an update here and there. Love hearing what you’re up to!

    Lots of exclamation points!!!!!!!!!!

    • Thank you Barb!! It’s great to be done with the second semester. My summer semester will be starting tomorrow, hopefully that goes ok!

      And thank you! I’m really excited too. 🙂 Just living there for a week made me wish I could live there now, but I have to finish my summer class here first before I can move.

      Thanks, I’ll try to write from time to time. Things have been so busy lately. Hope you’re doing well and are having a fun summer! 🙂

  5. Another milestone is in sight! Good work, Brittany!

  6. You sound like you’re doing really well! It’s interesting to me how you’re sensitive to signs of social anxiety in other people. As I’ve been able to get more out of my own head in social situations, I find that I also see these signs more easily. I also try to help out when I can. I’m glad to read that positive things are happening for you.

    • Yeah it has been helpful having the experiences I’ve had since it’s made me more empathetic to others. I haven’t had any social anxiety quite as bad as she seems to have it, but I know how it feels to be anxious about getting in front of the class and what not. Glad you can relate too! Thanks for writing.

  7. riatarded on said:

    I am excited for you! wheeeee!:D

  8. Nice job! Public Speaking can be very nerve racking especially for shy people. I have some great tips on my website to help people who suffer from shyness. Check them out at http://www.beatshynessnow.com.

  9. Sorry I haven’t been around much lately, but my book, The Bellman Chronicles, will be FREE to download on Sept. 10 – 11! Check it out on my Amazon Kindle page.. You won’t be disappointed. And if you can slip me a review, I’d be forever grateful…

    • Aww awesome Hook!! I didn’t realize you were already done with all the finishing touches of your book, that’s great! I shall check it out, sorry I haven’t been around much in the blogging sphere lately either. Hope you’ve been well though!

  10. This is a great website! Thank you for doing this. It’s been very helpful for me and my own journey. It’s nice to see support and know other people feel the same way. I’m impressed with how proactive you’ve been. It has inspired me to be proactive in my own life. Keep up the good work

  11. Thanks Erika for your kind words! 🙂 I’m glad this site has been of help to you, reading about other bloggers’ experiences in life and their struggles has been beneficial for me too. And of course, writing and reflecting on my own experiences and sharing them has been helpful for me too. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

