The Shyness Project

Random Acts of Kindness

When you feel down and are going through a tough time, it can be hard to get your head together again.  I was struggling with a lot of doubts and uncertainties that suddenly arose, and my mind was not giving me a break. Suffice to say I wasn’t being a good friend to myself for once and was slipping into a place I’d never been before.

But I don’t want to be in that place any longer.  I have to accept uncertainty and difficulty, and keep trudging forward.  I have to see the positives and not just the negatives.

I read a few of the recent posts on the blog, Year of Kindness, this afternoon after a long and dreary day at school.  Let’s just say that the posts touched my heart and I think it’s wonderful that Cat’s doing random acts of kindness for strangers.  It lifted my spirits reading about her generosity and thoughtfulness, and I thought of how I would feel if I had been one of her recipients, especially if it was during a time when I was feeling down like I have been.  I’m sure it would have brightened my day.

I think doing kind things for others can really be helpful for when you aren’t feeling well yourself.  It brings you a sense of human connection and reminds you of the little differences you can make each day. I feel inspired by Cat to be more active in my random acts of kindness now too.  I have done random acts of kindness in the past for strangers as well as people I know, but I haven’t really done any lately.  I feel like doing some now though, even just little things.  I know there are many people out there going through tough times themselves, and I hope I can make their day a little better so they can be given a boost of hope like Cat’s blog did for me.  If you want a boost of hope yourself, head on over to Cat’s blog and read about what’s she been up to!  You won’t regret it!

Single Post Navigation

20 thoughts on “Random Acts of Kindness

  1. Hi Brittany, I’m so happy to hear that you found Cat’s blog…it’s wonderful. I found her blog this past summer and was inspired by her vision, inspiration and ideas. I took a quote from one of her posts and put it on a background….for the past 9 months it’s been taped to the side of my computer monitor in the living room and between the windows above the kitchen sink. She has been a real inspiration for me, both in the blogs and my everyday life. http://pocketperspectives.wordpress.com/2011/09/10/have-faith-that-whatever-you-are-offering-to-the-world/ I hope the inspiration of her ideas helps give you a boost….I was asked to pass along the encouragement for you to keep noticing the wonderful positives…and it sounds like you are….warm wishes to you, Kathy

    • Yes I found it a while ago as well, I just hadn’t read any of her 2012 posts lately! It’s a great blog. It’s wonderful that you wrote a post about her blog too and were inspired by it also And that is a good quote! I’m happy that we’re all in this together in trying to make the world a better place and keep positive! Thanks for writing Kathy! Hope you and Jampa are enjoying your last week together before he heads home!

  2. I’ve always thought you had a way of radiating kindness via your blog. Trusting you’ll be able to shake the “funk” that’s been dogging you. It’s no fun when you’re in the middle of it.

  3. I hope you feel better soon Brit and it you ever need someone to talk to or at, I’m here.

    • Thanks Tom I appreciate it, I’m getting there! I’m usually a pretty happy person, this has just been a time where worries and confusions have gotten the best of me. I think there’s been some misunderstandings too lately, but I just have to let them go and not worry about it.

  4. You are absolutely right while saying, “I think doing kind things for others can really be helpful for when you aren’t feeling well yourself.” I always do the same whenever I am not feeling well. I hope you will feel much better soon.
    I always believe in a quote which says, “Everything in life is temporary.So if things are going good enjoy it because it wont last forever. And if things are not going well, then also do not worry. Because it can’t last forever either.”

    • Thanks Arindam, I am feeling much better! 🙂 And yes, it’s a win-win situation to do nice things for others because it makes you both feel good.

      And that’s a great quote, thanks for posting that! That’s very true, hardly anything is permanent and most things will pass. Thanks for writing, I will be visiting soon…

  5. This link really helps me too…

    I like his little steps at the end…have a pencil and paper ready he speaks very fast – I had to watch it a couple of times.

    Being down is important, because it is about change happening to you, and one needs to learn the correct steps to get back to balance – the road is very individualized.

    Graduating from college is just the start of the yellow brick road…it is quite a journey and we need all the tools we can learn to muster our way through 🙂

    Cat’s site is marvelous too!

    • Oh cool thanks Patricia! I love TED talks and I bookmarked that one so I can read it when I have some more time! I will take some notes. 🙂

      That is a great perspective, thanks for sharing that! We often feel like we should be happy all the time but you’re right, we all have times of sadness and there is meaning in that feeling too. When we get down we learn how to bring ourselves back up. I feel like I am more prepared for future difficulties now because I’ve gotten through this one and am restructuring some of my irrational beliefs. I’ve learned a lot from this experience actually even though it was tough to go through and a lot of good came out of it. Thanks for writing! I promise I will go on a blog visiting rampage soon and leave you all some comment love…I have a spring break coming up so I should be able to do that soon.

  6. Barbara Markway on said:

    Hi Brittany! Feel free to e-mail me any time. Hang in there!

  7. I’m heading over now. Thank you very kindly for sharing.

  8. Great uplifting post, Brittany! Your work still stands among the best WordPress has to offer!

  9. Well you have certainly returned the favour, honey, because reading your posts always makes my heart very happy! I would agree with Patricia in saying that feeling down isn’t necessarily a bad thing, as it usually means you’re stretching and growing and changing, and that you will really appreciate feeling up again as your new sparkly, changed self!

    Having said that, kindness has definitely helped me whenever I’ve been feeling a little down (sometimes probably more than the people that I’ve been kind to!) And the kind deeds that seem to be the smallest are sometimes the ones that are most memorable and impactful. Keep spreading your lovely energy and thoughtful insights on life. 🙂

    Cat

    • Thanks Cat! 🙂 I agree too that she has a good point there, and there definitely was a period of growth there looking back on it now. And yes I really appreciate feeling great again now, haha!

      That’s great that your kindness has benefited you as well, I definitely think it’s a win-win. I look forward to reading about more of your adventures in life in your next blog posts! Take care and thanks for stopping by!

  10. Me too, me too! when you are being kind to others, it is more difficult to have a bad day, no? Just knowing you have helped somebody else makes you feel good about yourself and the rest of the world. And by doing random acts of kindness, you are taking the focus away from yourself – and the things that are not going so well in your life – and believe it or not, it’s a good way to reduce anxiety. Thanks for sharing!

    • Haha yes it does make you feel good about yourself, and you make yourself someone who has value and importance in the world when you contribute. It is a good thing to take the focus off your life and onto to others like you say because it does get your anxiety down a bit about your own problems! Thanks Vee!

Leave a Reply

