The Shyness Project

Third and Fourth Interviews

I’ve done two other informational interviews since the other two.  One did not involve the phone and was in-person with my teacher who is also a career counselor, but that was a great experience as well.  I had a wonderful time speaking with her and her assistant and we connected really well.  We talked a full half hour and could have easily gone longer if she hadn’t gotten a knock on her door from someone waiting for a counseling appointment with her.  There were a lot of laughs and smiles and I felt a lot closer to her and her assistant after the interview.  And for the first time career counseling or counseling in general sparked an interest in me.  I’d never given it too much thought before and just kind of dismissed it but after talking with them it’s something I would consider now.

The other interview I did was with my close blogging friend Barb who I met through this project.  She’s a psychologist and has written several self-help books so I was interested in learning more about her career path.  I was a little nervous to call her because we had only emailed in the past, but it went great and was just like talking to her through email.  I felt like we had spoken before on the phone and like she was a family member or something.  So it was nice that we were so comfortable talking on the phone.  What she said about making a difference in some of her clients’ lives and being later told by them, “this was all possible because of you” really touched me and I thought that was awesome.

Both interviews went really well and I enjoyed talking with each of them about their career journeys.  Doing these interviews has been pretty exciting for me and I feel like I’m on a high after each one, much like how I would feel after I struck up conversations with strangers in previous months.  I’m getting a lot out of these interviews and have enjoyed learning more about various careers and connecting with the people who work in these fields.

Single Post Navigation

18 thoughts on “Third and Fourth Interviews

  1. Hi Brittany! It is wonderful that you are moving through all these fears one step at a time and finding that doing so allows you to keep moving forward. I have had much the same experience and still do. And seeking career advice from those who are actually doing the job — fantastic. Each time I am afraid to take a risk, I find that the thing I am really afraid of is usually the experience I want most. For example, a couple of years back, I started playing guitar. I am still very much a novice. But I love writing music and singing and needed some way to accompany myself. This process has involved much more work than I expected: actually writing the lyrics on paper with music, putting together a sound system, finding a way to record my songs, and so on. This December, I am planning to entertain at assisted living facilities as a first step. I will be singing some of my own songs. I have terrific stage fright but I am going to do it anyway.

    • Thanks Marcy! 🙂 And that’s so awesome that you’re going to be entertaining living facilities with your guitar playing and singing!! You’re going to rock the house!! You’re an amazing speaker and performer so I’m sure that will transfer over to your singing and guitar playing! Please sing and play guitar sometime for us at Toastmasters once you’ve braved the living facilities enough to where you feel more comfortable doing so! I’m sure it would make everyone’s night. Thanks for sharing your experiences, I appreciate it!

  2. Hi Brittany!
    I haven’t been by for a while, but I’m excited and not at all surprised to see that you are still making fantastic progress. I am truly excited for you.
    I’m thinking, that considering what you have accomplished so far, the sky is the limit for you. Clearly, you can find a way to do whatever you want.
    I am truly humbled…

  3. Wow, you don’t tire, do you? Fabulous persistence, Brittany. Hope it’s beginning to get easier with practice.

  4. Hey Brittany!

    Today I blogged about you, because, well, you’ll see…

    A-maz-ing!

    http://writeonpvd.squarespace.com/blog/

    Dawn

    • This is a great post Dawn!! I really enjoyed reading about your experience! And thanks for the shout out. 🙂 But wow, talk about a high school that doesn’t understand how undesirable the quiet label is. If that had happened to me I definitely would have worn a neon green sweater too, haha! Just to prove ’em wrong. 😉 I am glad to hear that your life after high school allowed you to be who you really are. I am discovering that too, and no longer feel like I have to base my identity around those labels either. I definitely use my voice through writing and speaking to articulate my views and to fight for what I am passionate about. In my speech class two days ago I gave a persuasive speech on a human rights issue where I expressed sadness, anger, seriousness, and optimism to stand up for what I believe in. I was brought to tears with all the passion I was expressing even. It was one of the hardest but most exhilarating things I’ve ever done. To be free of labels is a wonderful thing.

  5. That’s great! It really is true, the more you do something the easier it becomes. I think it’s just a matter of getting through those initial difficult stages where you don’t think it’s getting easier (and not giving up because it’s still hard), to get to the point when one day it really is easier (if that makes sense).

    I had to do a presentation to some fairly important people at work this week on stuff I knew very well and they had very little idea about. I was terrified and, to make things worse, my presentation was after two others, so I had to sit there sweating until it was my turn. I was so scared. But when I actually did it, I really nailed it. For some reason everything clicked and I felt amazingly calm, confident and in control. It’s the first time this has ever happened to me in a presentation and I felt great about it. It was such a confidence booster!

    • Yeah that totally makes sense! 🙂 I agree, I think with most of the things I’ve done the key has just been going out and doing them and realizing that the more I do them the easier it becomes.

      That is so awesome!!! Excellent job! I can relate, I usually like going first in presentations too. I always think I’m going to freak out if I have to wait too long and listen to others first. But this week I had 2 speeches in school, one was with a powerpoint in International Relations, and the other was with notecards in Speech. I went 5th for the powerpoint and I thought that was going to drive me crazy, but I felt totally calm and confident too! It was so nice. And then I went last in speech class, and I was calm for the beginning of class, but then as the person before me went I got really nervous, mostly because I was going to be talking about a controversial subject that I knew would face some opposition. But I did really well with that too, and gave the most passionate speech I’ve ever given. It was cool. 🙂 Glad your speeches and presentations have been going well too! 🙂

  6. Barbara Markway on said:

    It was fun talking with you, Brittany! And I see someone else has written a blog about you (Dawn). See how inspiring you are!

  7. Excellent work Brittany! I’m beginning to see journalism as a career choice for you!

    • Thanks belle! 🙂 You know I could see that being a fun career. I always thought I couldn’t do that because I hate the phone, but now I’m pretty sure I could do it. 😉

  8. Keep climbing those mountains, Brittany!

  9. It’s amazing all that you have accomplished since the very first time I came across your blog. Keep going Brit! Give it all you’ve got.

Leave a Reply

