The Shyness Project

First Informational Interview

A few hours later the lady I had talked to about the physical therapist interview called back and we arranged the meeting.  I was actually able to come in the next day.

I was nervous beforehand, but not too nervous.  It wasn’t like I was going to be answering any questions like in a job interview.  I would be the one asking the questions and it would all be for informative and casual purposes.

When I opened the door to the clinic and stepped in, I took in the surroundings of the place.  There was a man working on some type of exercise machine and lots of other equipment around.  I turned to face the secretary who I figured was the lady I had spoken to on the phone and introduced myself.  She pointed me to where I should sit, only a few feet away where a physical therapist was seated working on papers.  I hadn’t expected this.  I thought I would be talking to someone in a private office, not in the middle of the main room with the secretary and patients around.  I felt a little uncomfortable.

But I went over to him, introduced myself, and sat down.  I went over what I was there for again, saying it would probably only take 15 to 20 minutes.

“That long?” he said.  “I thought this was just going to be a few minutes.”

This threw me off, but I said, “Oh, well whatever is convenient for you!”

After checking with him that it was still ok to do this interview, I started on my questions.  I first asked him why he chose to be a physical therapist out of all the other careers.  He said he grew up with family that had all gone to med school, and he had done that too at first, but then discovered that he really liked physical therapy and switched to that.

I nodded and scribbled brief notes so I could write up my interview later.  I felt a little self-conscious writing notes as he stared at my hand.  But then I asked my next question, and he answered that.  The interview actually went really quickly because he was brief with his answers.  I had expected it to take a lot longer, but I don’t think it took more than 10 minutes.  I only prepared 10 questions because I figured each response might take a while, and had thought of cutting that list down, but it’s a good thing I didn’t.  I spoke a little fast at times too and it was hard for me to feel comfortable in the setting we were in, but in the end I got all my questions answered.  After I was done, I thanked him, shook his hand, and then thanked the secretary for getting back to me so quickly and arranging the interview.

Walking out the door was a relief as the cool air blew across my face.  My first interview was complete!

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “First Informational Interview

  1. I actually sighed of relief after reading this. Good job, Brittany. 😀

  2. Well done! I remember back in my university days I had to interview several different people as part of my course. I was terrified, but I had no choice -it was part of the assessment so I HAD to do it! The people I spoke to were not as scary as I thought they’d be and were more than happy to talk to me. I built it up in my mind to be a lot more terrifying than it actually was. But even so, when put into the same situation in other circumstances later on, I was still terrified. I guess it’s something you get used to the more you do it though. 🙂

    • Yeah I had expected people to be really happy to talk about their job and eager, but sometimes things don’t always go as you expect. He probably was just very busy. But I’ve done some interviews after this one and I did get much fuller responses and more like I had anticipated. It’s been really helpful and fun for the most part. 🙂 It does help when you are assigned to do something, and in my career class we have to do two informational interviews as well so that helped me get going on this. Thanks!

  3. Excellent Work Brittany! He sounds like a bit of challenge 🙂

  4. Another dragon slain! Well done!

  5. I have read severtal excellent stuff here. Certainly price bookmarking forr revisiting.
    I surprise how so much attempt you place to create
    this kind of fantastic informative site.

Leave a Reply

