The Shyness Project

Taking a Leap- Ziplining and Mechanical Bull Riding

My dad’s work was hosting a family fun day, and my family and I chose to attend.

Right away when we got there, I saw that a zipline structure had been set up near the entrance.  My heart raced at the prospect of going up that high and dangling in the air by a harness.  My mom hurried towards the structure though, eager to give it a shot, and she dragged us with her.

The line was short and I didn’t have but a minute or two to protest or change my mind.  My mom had me go first because she wanted to watch and learn before going on (thanks a lot mom).  So with a fluttering stomach I allowed the harness to be put on me, and waited at the base of the long staircase for my turn to walk up.  The gear felt tight and I began to feel a little light headed at the prospect of what I was about to rush into. I have mild discomfort with heights and I don’t like going fast, so I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel about ziplining.  I hoped I wouldn’t faint.

When it was my turn to go, I trudged up the countless metallic silver stairs, getting further and further from the ground.  I kept going until I reached the top, trying to not look down and see how high I was.

Once I got to the top, the man operating the zipline attached a clip to my harness and instructed me to stand on the circular platform.  Then once I was standing on the platform, he removed the barrier blocking the edge of the platform.  The way was clear and I nervously looked down below.

“What do I do now?” I asked, uncertain.

“Anything you want,” he said. “You can walk off the edge, jump off, whatever.”

I gulped. I’m not one to just go off an edge into the air at a high elevation.

I exhaled.

Then I jumped.

I went sliding down and across the line, feeling like Batman going after the bad guys.  It wasn’t as gut wrenching as I thought it would be, and I could see it being more fun once you get used to it a little.  When I reached the end of the line, I stopped a little short, but there were several guys there who helped me down.  I ended up whacking my face with my hands and knocking my sunglasses off when I landed from the force, but other than that it went smoothly.  At least now I can say I’ve been on a zipline.

Then the rest of my family went too, and I think they had a good experience as well.

Later on we all rode a little mechanical bull that was set up too, which was something they had offered at my grad night but I had been reluctant to try it.  I thought it might be embarrassing if I couldn’t last long or got thrown off right away with everyone watching.  But my family and I all did it, and I lasted a good amount of time, and it was kind of fun actually.  Luckily there wasn’t too big of a crowd around and that helped.

My brother and I also rock climbed later on, and I’ve done that before so it wasn’t new to me, but still it makes me a little nervous being up that high and having to take leap of faiths now and then.  I fell once trying to get to a rock but luckily the slack was kept tight and I didn’t drop too far.  I eventually reached the top and rappelled back down.

All in all it was a day that took me out of my comfort zone, but it was great to be able to experience some new things.  I would do them again!

Single Post Navigation

21 thoughts on “Taking a Leap- Ziplining and Mechanical Bull Riding

  1. Hahaha! All of that sounds like fun! I want to zipline 🙂

    • Haha thanks it was fun, though it was nerve-wracking beforehand! I’m looking forward to being able to try one of those fancy ziplines where you get to go through a forest or something, that would be pretty neat. 🙂

  2. How fun, I can imagine how scary it must feel to jump off !

    • Haha yeah jumping off the edge of the platform was a mentally difficult decision for me to make, especially with all those people down below watching! But it was something I had to just do. 🙂

  3. I had fun doing the zipline before and I would very much like to try it again – with more activities this time like rock-climbing or riding the mechanical bull. Never tried the two.

    Glad you had a blast. 😀

  4. You are braver than me…not sure I could do the ziplining!

    • Haha thanks Sharon, I know it’s nothing like skydiving or bungee-jumping, but for me it was pretty scary! At least now I have an idea of what it’s like for the future. 🙂

  5. Sounds fun.I envy that there is a zipline for adults because most ziplines are for children in our country.I also want to ride on it. 🙂

  6. Gracious, you don’t do things by halves, do you, Brittany? Some courageous hobbies you’re choosing! Glad you experienced ziplining 🙂

  7. Fun stuff! I’m sure your mom was letting you go first for your own good – it’s our job as parents to make sure our kids become strong and independent 🙂

  8. sounds like you’re ready to skydive 🙂

  9. Skydiving! That activity is really fun. I tried it before with my cousin, but our position was like that of Superman’s, hee hee 😀 If only I could do it every single weekend, I would!

    The mechanical bull riding…well… I’m not really sure if I would ever do that. 😐

    Rock climbing. Haven’t done that yet. But the rapelling, I tried it once before and it was scary, all I could remember was me screaming the entire time. Hahaha!

    Anyway, I’m glad you and your family had a really good time! 🙂

    • HA! Ooops. I did not mean SKYDIVING. I meant ZIPLINING. Hee heeh.
      *that’s what I get from not reviewing my comments before posting*

      • Haha glad you really enjoyed the *ziplining*! It would be more fun to go through a jungle probably than over a bunch of people.

        Wow haha screaming the whole time? You might have scared the rocks more than yourself there, haha! 😉

        Thanks, it was a good day for us! 🙂

  10. You have the heart of a warrior, Brittany!
    Seriously.

Leave a Reply

