The Shyness Project

Trying Salsa and Latin Dancing for the First Time

One of my plans in trying new things was to sign up for a Salsa & Latin Dancing class.  I wasn’t quite sure what to expect out of this class, but from what I’d seen on Dancing with the Stars and So You Think You Can Dance I knew it would probably be a little out of my comfort zone.  I expected a lot of shimmying and shaking to say the least.

I figured I could handle it though, and my love for dance would get me through any moves I might find out of my element.  I’m an avid swing dancer, but salsa and Latin dancing were completely new to me.

And as it turns out, for a while I actually preferred my Latin dancing class over my West Coast swing class!  I really enjoyed the music and the movement, and surprisingly was better at moving my hips and getting into the rhythm than I thought.

It’s been a lot of fun learning Latin dancing, and has been a great workout as well.  So far I’ve learned Salsa, Merengue, Bachata, Rumba, and Cha-Cha.  They’re all pretty fun, and Rumba is a nice break from all the faster dances.  My swing background has actually carried over to the Latin Dancing a bit too, and funnily enough some of the more advanced people in the class are convinced I’ve done this type of dancing before!  I’m just a quick learner.

At some point I am hoping to try going out to a salsa club and seeing what it’s like on the real dance floor.  Should be interesting!

Single Post Navigation

18 thoughts on “Trying Salsa and Latin Dancing for the First Time

  1. Is that you in the photo? Is that skin hurting you – I’ll bite his face off!
    Seriously though, it’s a great idea to take part in group activities like this, meeting new people, plenty of exercise etc. Have you thought about getting a dog? Great icebreaker when you’re out walking. Might I suggest a Border Terrier? We’re great!

    • If I might: I love dogs. I have one myself. A nice icebreaker, yes. Yet you’ll only get to talk to dog-lovers because so many people just don’t like pets or don’t care about them. Not to mention dogs are a lot of responsibility. I don’t know. I wouldn’t get a dog just to socialize more with people.

      That being said, bonesdiary, a very cute puppy, indeed! 🙂

      About salsa and latin dancing classes: What a great idea, Brittany! So is it going to be a weekly activity or only once in a while? Either case, it’s a great way to free your mind and stop thinking about whatever you have to do tomorrow or things like that.

      So are you going to present a routine in front of an audience at some point? I remember my music classes; we always had a recital at the end of the year.

      • Yep, I’m cute alright. And so modest too ; )

        • Yeah dogs are awesome, wish I had one of my own. My neighbor’s dogs are the closest I have to my own though, and I love them very much. Dogs can definitely attract people to you who want to pet them or say how cute they are, though often people talk more to the dog than the person, haha. 🙂

          It’s twice a week, after my swing dance classes. So it’s like 3 hours of dance classes in a row. It can get a little tiring since it’s near the end of my day after I’ve been at school a while, but it’s been a lot of fun too.

          I don’t know if we will, so far it’s just been dancing and then written tests on identifying what move is called what. If there was it wouldn’t be so bad though because it would probably be in a group and you at least have a partner. I’ve done several dance recitals in the past for Jazz dance and those have never been a problem for me since they were group dances. 🙂

  2. What an exuberant start to your experiments, Brittany 🙂 Glad you enjoy this new pastime.

    • Thanks Kate! 🙂 I like it and it’s not as embarrassing as I thought it would be! It helps that we don’t really dance in front of the mirrors, I’m a much better dancer then, haha!

  3. It was when I heard the song Arroyito by Fonseca for the first time that made me want to try salsa and latin dancing. Have a blast!

  4. Way to go! Dancing IS fun! 🙂

  5. I would love to take latin dance classes! It must be so much fun!

  6. I love salsa, I’m sure you’ll have so much fun 🙂

  7. I know a lot of people feel the same way about Latin dancing and some have tried to get me out on the floor. If I were to try something like that Zumba would be as far as I go for now. As for you Brit, I am very proud of you. You are making major strides in this project of yours. Very proud I am of you!!

    • I’ve always thought Zumba sounded interesting too, I’ll have to try that at some point. I can’t really take on any more classes right now, but sometime I will take a class in that! Haha thanks, it’s been fun! 🙂

  8. How cool are you?
    AWESOME!!!!

Leave a Reply

