The Shyness Project

Try New Things

Although I have yet to write on my blog about this, I have been making an effort to try new things lately.

Even though I’d like to say I’m an adventurous person, the truth is that I’m not really.  At least, I don’t think I can say that I am right now.  I like routine and certainty more than I’d like to believe.  I often do a lot of the same things, because I know I’ll enjoy them and be comfortable with them.

And I especially like to eat a lot of the same foods.  In elementary and middle school I’m pretty sure I had the same lunch everyday- crackers & cheese mix and apples or grapes.  Even in high school I ate a lot of the same foods, with the addition of a sandwich for lunch, then apples or grapes, and then crackers or chips.

This isn’t a bad thing.  It’s perfectly ok to like routine and to like simplicity.  But for this experiment I want to see what it’s like to try some new things.  I want to switch things up a little.  I’m an open minded person when it comes to attitudes toward most things, so that should at least help me in my goals.

I have already tried several new things just by starting and running this project as well as in other areas of my life, but I think a time focused on this goal will be beneficial.  Fear of the unknown can be a contributing factor to shyness and anxiety, and by trying new things I think that could bring about a lesson or two on the unknown.  Some of these endeavors will put me outside of my comfort zone and may be things I don’t like, but it will be interesting to see what I find and come across.  There are a lot of opportunities out there to try some new things and switch up daily routines.

Single Post Navigation

17 thoughts on “Try New Things

  1. As they say Brittany – “Variety is the spice of life!” ENJOY your new spices!

  2. This sounds adventurous and I am looking forward to hearing about all that you do. I hope you try some new foods. I would like to hear about that – just make healthy choices. Enjoy the uncertainty of it all.

    • Thanks Tom! 🙂 Haha yeah the foods is a big one for me. I have been trying a few new foods which I may write about eventually. I won’t be eating fried twinkies or anything like that though, haha! Or deep fried butter…

  3. All the best, Brittany 🙂 Looking forward to reading about some of the adventures this brings!

  4. Trying something is exciting and wonderful. Since I’m 35 years old, I always try to do something new.:smile:

  5. I have never been one to miss an opportunity to get stuck in to something new so I can highly recommend your present course of action. As far as I see it – there are no good experiences or bad experiences, there are only experiences. I heard my dad quote Arundhati Roy (I think that’s how it is spelt) who said “…the only dream worth having is to dream that you live while you’re alive and die only when you’re dead.” Life is wonderful, it’s full of fun, go out there and squeeze every last drop out of it.

    • Awesome quote Bones, thanks! I love it! I definitely am trying to live life to the fullest and live in the moment. I think it’s really important to try and do that, because time goes by so fast it seems. Sometimes it goes by slowly, but then you look back and you realize how quickly time has gone by.

  6. This is great, Brittany! Trying different things is great. You gain a lot of different experiences, good and bad and they will definitely help you grow to a better person, well depends on how you’re going to take the lessons taught to you by these experiences.
    Anyway, hope you enjoy this experiment of yours! Have a great day! 🙂

    • Thanks Jess!! I will definitely gain several new experiences and perspectives out of this! We all know the lessons- it’s good to try new things, and often things will be better than you think and if they don’t, you still learn. It’s just a matter of experiencing this yourself. I think it’s important to go out and try to live the lessons and learn them so you’ll really understand the validity behind those wise claims. It’ll be more interesting this way!

  7. And thank you so much all you lovely people for all your comments!! It means a lot to me! Especially since I am really behind on all my blog reading and visiting, so thank you for still reading and writing anyway!! You’re all awesome. 🙂

  8. I have been trying to try new things as well! Not easy, really, because then I start making a bunch of excuses to avoid situations. Not good. 😦
    My best bet has been to look something up, find a way to get involved and diving head first before I get a chance to change my mind.
    It’s been working fairly well. ^^
    Another trick is to try things that you actually like. It sounds obvious, but sometimes, anxious people try things that are either way out of their comfort zone or that just don’t interest them because they figured any social activity would help them with their anxiety. The truth is it is not so clear cut. I personnally try not to force things to much! I don’t like clubbing, I don’t like clubbing and that is all there is to it (for example). There are plenty of other things that I might try that I would enjoy better.

    • Good strategy! 🙂 Overthinking things and getting anxious beforehand has always been my problem too. If I could be rid that apprehension and anxiety before the act it would make things a lot easier. But it’s usually there to some degree, so I just have to find ways to deal with it and continue with my plans anyway. Acting quickly does help.

      Yeah I’m mostly going after things that I think I will like and would like to try. And I’m not going out of my way too much to do these things and not trying to do anything fancy that involves a lot of money or travel even. I’m looking for opportunities that arise and that don’t involve too much trouble to try them out. I’ve never tried clubbing but I don’t think I’d like it too much either because of the loud music, drinking, crowds, etc. I think it’s a lot better to try things you think you’ll like too, like for me going out to a salsa club interests me or trying out a new swing dance place. Thanks for your insights Vee! 🙂

  9. Your progress has been nothing short of amazing, young lady!

Leave a Reply

