The Shyness Project

Painfully Shy

A neon green package arrived in my mailbox on Thursday.

I hastily tried to open it.  Soon enough, I pulled out the book, Painfully Shy, by Barbara and Gregory Markway.  I eagerly glanced inside the book to read the message written to me with my mom.

The message was very kind and is one I will always love and treasure.  Her closing line was “You have a gentle charisma that shines through in your writing, and I also saw it in your Icebreaker Speech.”

This is the first time I’ve ever gotten a book sent to me.  I’ve never even had a book signed before!

I have only gotten to read a little bit of her book so far, but I’ve already been hooked and have sticky notes on several pages.  I love reading the stories of all the people Barb has met working as a psychologist in particular.  And I love reading about her personal experiences with shyness and anxiety too, and getting to know her even better through the book.

Barb found me thanks to a comment I made on the Quiet: The Power of Introverts blog.  She contacted me and asked me to send her an email, so I did.  It was then that she told me that she could relate to so much of my blog and wanted to send me one of her books that shared several of her experiences.  She said she doesn’t think I am painfully shy anymore, but that it might give me some ideas for my project .  I was flattered and told her that would be awesome.

She’s been very interested in my project and has been a pleasure to talk to through email.  It’s been great emailing back and forth and we’ve become fast friends.  (I can’t help but write book-length emails to her every time!) I’m very honored to get to know her!  She is one cool lady who I’d love to meet in person.  So go to her site, and fill it with lots of good comments.  She has really great, thought-provoking posts!  I can’t wait to read more of her book!

http://markway.com/

Barbara Markway, Ph.D., is a psychologist and author. Her work has been featured in numerous media outlets, including: the New York Times, Washington Post, Today Show, and Good Morning America. Her first book, Dying of Embarrassment, has been named one of the most scientifically valid self-help books in a study published in Professional Psychology, Research and Practice.

Single Post Navigation

20 thoughts on “Painfully Shy

  1. Have you read that Freshly Pressed post about introverts and extroverts?

  2. That’s wonderful! I’m glad that someone such as Barb reached out to you! The internet is a wonderful vast place to meet with others and develop relationships that we normally would never acquaint ourselves with…

    • Thanks, it is! 🙂 It is amazing how many cool people you can meet on the internet. Before I started blogging I thought of all those weirdos who pretend to be someone they’re not and wasn’t sure who I was going to come across, but so far I’ve only met great and interesting people! It makes me want to go around the U.S. (and even some other countries like Canada) to meet some of them! Thanks for writing!

  3. Barbara Markway on said:

    Thanks for such nice words, Brittany! We can start a mutual admiration society. And I want you to know I made a special trip to Target to get that neon green envelope 🙂

    • Haha a mutual admiration society, sounds good! 🙂 And thanks, it definitely stood out from all the other mail! I’m keeping it so I can write a thank you letter to your address once I’ve gotten to read more of your book. Hope your sick day got a little better! Thanks for writing!

  4. Sounds great but I have never read books written in long English.
    I read only Roald Dahl because his English is easy and interesting to understand.:)

    • Haha thanks cocomino, I remember hearing of some of his books growing up but I don’t know if I ever read them. It would be really hard for me to read even a kids book in Japanese (unless it had lots and lots of pictures)! 🙂 Thanks for your comment!

  5. So cool, Brittany!

  6. I just love getting books in the mail and I added this one to my list to read and review…What a great author and I am so glad you have a relationship with such a special person.

    Neat! and your words are inspiring me to read more right now!

    • Great! Let me know when you get a chance to read it and then review it! She is definitely a great author and a great person as well. I am glad to have gotten connected with her too!

      Thanks for your comment Patricia! 🙂

  7. now that is a serendipitous encounter for sure. Exciting!

  8. Brittany, I am so very happy for you!
    You truly do deserve this honour for everything that you are doing here and in your life! You really are an inspiration!
    Keep going!

  9. What anice milestone! Congrats!

  10. Thanks for the recommendation of that book….it sounds like it’s insightful and helpful. I’ve been thinking a lot about “shyness” recently and trying to figure out how it gets “set off”…maybe this book would save me some thinking. Thanks

Leave a Reply

