The Shyness Project

Responses to The Ice Breaker Speech and Shyness Project

I am touched by the responses I’ve gotten from those who have watched my Icebreaker Speech video.  Susan Cain, the brilliant upcoming author of Quiet: The Power of Introverts book and blog (http://www.thepowerofintroverts.com/), wrote an especially heartfelt email to me.  She said my speech “brought tears to her eyes — not only the cruelty of your so-called friends, but also your courage in telling it.”  She said she can’t even imagine what incredible things I’ll be doing by the time I’m her age.  I’m honored, not only because she took the time to read my post and watch my video, but because my speech had such an impact on her.  I will always treasure her email.

I recently told one of my friends, Tristan, (who I met through swing dance) about my project and speech, and he surprised me by saying that he considers himself to be shy and introverted.  He brought up many insightful qualities about being shy and introverted as well.  I had no idea that he thought either of those things about himself, but it was cool to hear.  He is a guy I admire very much and have always looked up to.  He is adventurous, environmentally conscious, and wise beyond his years.  He has travelled to many countries and is currently teaching English abroad in Japan for his second year.

Yesterday I finally told my oldest brother Andrew about my project. He wrote back saying “Oh my god Brittany, I am so proud of you!  You always amaze me with your brilliance and introspection!” which was really touching because I’d been nervous to tell him.  We talked on the phone for a long time.  He said he never thought I was shy, and brought up how I’d always befriended his friends right away and got along so well with them.  His friends would often tell him that they wished that I was their sister, and Andrew would tell them he was very proud to be my brother.

He then told me as he was watching my speech, he nearly cried.  He said he learned something new about me.  I asked him what that was, and he said he had no idea about the bullying.  I hadn’t realized that I’d never told him.  The truth is, I’ve rarely ever talked about it and at the time it was happening, I kept it secret.  I didn’t want my family to think that I was a loser like those girls did.  I didn’t even write about it in my journal because I didn’t want to admit that it was happening. It wasn’t until the cyber-bullying near the end of the year that I finally broke down and told my mom.

Today I talked on the phone with my friend Brian, and let him in on the project too. He was very enthusiastic and interested in reading it and watching my speeches.  He was very proud and touched by what I was trying to do not only help myself, but to help other people.  He thinks I’m proactive and am helping spread a message that shyness isn’t a weakness and something others should look down upon.  I told him how I used to believe that I had live my life with limitations, and now that I’ve learned that I don’t have to, my whole perspective has changed.

Now that I’ve been speaking more about my project instead of keeping it to myself, I’ve learned that people are very supportive and proud of me for what I’m doing.  The ones I’ve talked with don’t view me as shy at all.  They are glad that I’m becoming aware of what I’m capable of and that I am not letting labels or false beliefs hold me back.

To anyone who I’ve mustered up the courage to tell my project to, thank you.  Thank you for being so supportive, understanding, and loving.  Thank you especially Annie for making me feel so comfortable when I shared my project for the first time, and for making me feel so good about myself.  Thank you Andrew for spending several hours with me editing a guest post I’m writing to help make it the most accessible it can be.  And thank you to all the loyal blogging friends I’ve made since the start of this journey: Doug, Vee, Sharon, “Madonna”, Cheryl, Jenny, “Hook”, “GMom”, Tom, Patti, Maria, Patricia, Tyler, Eric, and Faith.  Doug, as you know you were my first blogging friend.  If you hadn’t been there to help me figure out blogging and hadn’t offered to let me write a guest post, it would have taken me longer to get started.

I am very fortunate to have so many wonderful people in my life.  Who knew starting this project and blog could bring so much greatness and self-realization.

Single Post Navigation

15 thoughts on “Responses to The Ice Breaker Speech and Shyness Project

  1. Pingback: Responses to The Ice Breaker Speech and Shyness Project « The … | TEFL Japan

  2. You’ve got a gift girl. I don’t mean public speaking lol even though you are good at that. What I mean is you have the ability to power through your fears and achieve whatever you want to achieve. That’s something that many many people wish they had. Keep it up!

    • Thanks Tyler! I didn’t even really know that I had that ability until this year. I think more people have it in them than they realize, it’s just about finding something that’s worth the perseverance to bring it out. Thanks for writing!

  3. I’ve had the same thought as Susan…can’t wait to hear/see the incredible things you’ll be doing when you’re my age 🙂 You have the right blend of humility and guts.

  4. I am so proud of you! 🙂
    I wish I had had the courage to take the steps you have taken when I was your age, I am so glad to have met you through blogging and you inspire me!

    • Thanks Sharon, that means a lot! 🙂 I am very glad to have met you through blogging too, if I’m ever near your area of Texas or if you’re near my area of California, it would be cool to meet up. Thanks for being such a good blogging friend! Thanks for writing!

  5. People like you, they really do!
    Great work, Brittany!

  6. Barbara Markway on said:

    Wow! My husband and I just watched this video. It was powerful. It was heartfelt. It was gutsy. It was real. I’m not sure what “it” is, but you’ve got IT! Way to go, Brittany!

    • Thank you Barbara!! 🙂 That really means a lot. I’m glad my first speech seems to have gone well, and I am ready for the next one! It won’t be as personal but it will be about a subject that’s meaningful to me, choosing a career. Thanks for your awesome comment! 🙂

  7. kindamixedup on said:

    Brittany, I should be the one thanking YOU for being such an inspiration.

    Merci 🙂

    • Haha thanks Vee! 🙂 I am always very honored whenever you say such things to me, thank you. I hope you write some more posts soon, I miss reading your posts and seeing what’s going on in your life! Thanks for your lovely comment.

  8. WOW! Really, I mean WOW! You have such great ability to articulate what you do and what you feel. AND you acknowledge those that have helped you along the way. And that is what you are do, you are helping others along the way. I would venture to say that there are alot of people who read your blog and get alot out of it, but don’t say anything. You go woman!

    • Thank you so much Larry!! 🙂 That means a lot! You know that is probably very true, especially with this sort of subject that most don’t want to talk about or reveal, I hadn’t really thought about that. Thanks for your very thoughtful comment!

Leave a Reply

