The Shyness Project

Taking on Another Role: Wordmaster

Last Wednesday I was the Wordmaster at Toastmasters.  I had one of the smaller roles, and simply had to introduce a new word to the club that they would try to use during the table topics impromptu speaking or any other time. I chose auspicious, which means favorable or opportune, even though it’s a word that probably many know and I’ve known it since it was a vocab word from Lit class in 9th grade when we read “To Kill a Mockingbird”.  The word was used several times throughout the evening and it had a fairly good run.

Luckily I didn’t have to do table topics that night as I was feeling pretty nervous about the scenario and wasn’t quite sure what I would say.  My dad gave his icebreaker speech this night though, and that went well.  He did end up talking way over the time limit but everyone assured him that his stories were so good and interesting that they didn’t mind.  So now my dad and I have both gotten our first speeches out of the way!  We really should celebrate.

I won’t be able to go to Toastmasters for the next two weeks though as I’ll be away, but I will have some other posts up for you hopefully!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Taking on Another Role: Wordmaster

  1. Wow Brittany,
    I am duly impressed! I am so happy for you taking on this project. Not only is it helping you to grow and stretch, but it is also inspiring for others!
    Thank you so much for sharing!

  2. Don’t let the power go to your head, young lady!
    Congrats, though.

  3. Greg Markway on said:

    I think it’s really cool that you and your dad are doing this together! (Barb)

Leave a Reply

