The Shyness Project

Graduation Day and Grad Night

Graduation Day was last Saturday and it went well despite the downpour of rain all day. It was the first time it had rained on graduation day in a long time, 100 years maybe? Either that or it had never happened before, I can’t remember. This meant we could only bring 4 people, which upset many people and made me worried as well, but luckily I was able to get some extra tickets from a friend who didn’t need all hers.

I took pictures with friends before the ceremony and it was fun seeing everyone dressed in their blue gowns and caps. The ceremony wasn’t too long and I wasn’t too nervous during it. We listened to a few speeches and listened to some of our classmates perform our senior song, and then we went row by row to get our diplomas (really just empty folders). My heart started beating a little faster as it came closer to my turn to go up to the podium, but when I was actually near the podium, I didn’t feel any nervousness at all strangely. I shook hands with my right and received the folder with my left and smiled for some pictures. I was in the last row so after I and a few others went, the ceremony was over and caps went flying in the air.

At night, I got picked up by my friend Sue who was going to take us to Grad Night. As we walked into the school, I felt like we were in a totally different, happier place. It was like we were in a theme park, not a high school. Luckily the rain had stopped by now so all the outside decorations and activities weren’t ruined. Sue and I played some carnival games first, and then we did this bungee jumping thing where you can do flips on a big trampoline. I didn’t really want to do it honestly and the mere thought of it made me nervous, but Sue really wanted to so I agreed. We waited for a while, and I got more nervous as time wore on. More people came in line with us that we knew and we started talking to them, and it was good to see them but at the same time that meant more people would be watching me when it was my turn. Finally it was Sue’s turn and she jumped up and down a couple of times though she wasn’t able to do any flips. It was my turn then and I managed to do some flips and it was a little scary because I really had to throw my feet over my head and I didn’t always land the best. I felt really dizzy afterward but I was glad that I faced my fear. I thought of the experience as being symbolic for facing more fears to come and doing things that I might otherwise regret not doing when I’m hesitant. I’m trying to live up to my senior quote, “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do…Explore. Dream. Discover.” –Mark Twain

Later on in the night we found Annie, Ashleia, and Emily, and we stuck together the rest of the night. I raced Ashleia in an inflatable obstacle course twice and it was a lot of fun and we crashed on top of each other at the end and got all tangled up. The second time we started pulling each other down as we were climbing the inflatable rock wall and we laughed a lot. A group of us later raced each other on motorized toilets in a little race course that was set up, and that was fun even though they were kind of hard to control sometimes. I also did this inflatable jousting battle with Sue and I was victorious. We sang karaoke as a group, and I was happy that they all finally agreed to my suggestion of singing “Man I Feel Like a Woman”! We also played a couple of rounds of bingo and most of my friends won boxer shorts that they wore over their jeans.

Near the end we got our fortune told, and the lady was sort of accurate and sort of not. I’m not sure if I believe her or not, she did get some things right but other things were really off. After that it was time for the hypnotist show, which was crazy and had me laughing so much and I couldn’t believe what was happening. The guy would make people fall asleep just by jerking their hand or telling them to look here then there. Some of the things didn’t work, but a majority did and it was really funny to see people you’d never expect acting the way they did. The best part was when he told the guys that they were female lingerie models and had them walk the runway and strut their stuff. A lot of the guys got really into it, even the ones you’d never expect. Other than that he had them react to all sorts of things like different beliefs about who they were or what the temperature was and what not.

Afterward we all hugged and said goodbyes, and some people started crying. It was a really fun way to end high school, and it was a great night. On the car ride home with Sue it finally hit me that I was never coming back to this place and that our class and friends would never be together like this again. Sue couldn’t believe I was crying but the tears were indeed rolling down my face as I thought about it. We’re all going our separate ways; we’re not going to have each other around like this anymore. I’m going to miss people, especially those who I got closer with this year. But at the same time, it’s time for bigger and better things. Like Hook said, the world is now my oyster, and it’s time for a new beginning. I won’t lose the close friendships I’ve made and it’s not the end. High school was a good experience overall, and I hope college will be fun too. I’ve heard that it’s better than high school, so I’m excited. What was it like for you to finish high school and start college if you did? How did things change?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


 

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Graduation Day and Grad Night

  1. WOHOOO!! high school is forever over.. CONGRATS!!

  2. Patti on said:

    College is a time like no other in most people’s lives – you enter a world where almost everyone around you is within a couple years of your own age, and you’re all figuring stuff out together, on your own. You’re in a sort of bubble world, to be sure, but it can be really grand. Enjoy it and learn all you can from it – and be ready to let it go when the time comes, because it’s great, but not a way to live for always.

    • Sounds exciting! I really can’t wait until I’m able to transfer to a four year school, I think that will be even more fun than community college. I’m sure it will be a good time. It will be really weird to graduate from college, because then you’re pretty much never going to school again! (other than grad school or whatever you decide to do later) Thanks for writing!

  3. Congratulations, graduate!
    Sounds like grad. night was tons of funs too!
    I’m glad you had an overall good experience in high school….I didn’t have such a great one but I liked college. I went to a Community College only though, but it was still fun and different. For me, it was a better experience because people are starting to grow up more and putting less emphasis on cliques and popularity. I’m sure universities still have it a little because there’s frats and sororities but for me, personally, college was a place where I didn’t have to be afraid anymore.

    • For some reason this ended up in my spam folder, I have no idea why! But I’m glad I checked it! Thank you Sharon! I’m glad that you liked college and that community college was still fun and different. I will be going to community college too. I’m sure there are still groups and what not, but hopefully more people are open to having lots of different friends and being less exclusive!

  4. kindamixedup on said:

    YAY!!! Congrats brittany!

    The thing here is that a lot of people hate college because Quebec the only province in Canada to have minimum 2 years of CEGEP, which is mandatory to enter university. A lot of people would rather have a grade 12 in high school and no CEGEP as they feel CEGEPs are a waste of time and money. Nonetheless, I personally liked it. Here, there is a law to protect the french language that says you can’t study in an anglophone institution until college if none of your parents is anglophone. So a lot of francophones like myself leave a french high school to enter an english CEGEP. It was the biggest change for me, really. But I liked it. Did things change from high school to college? Not really. Except that in college, everybody is more laid back. Too much things to do and to explore to be bothered and stressed out by school assignments… ^^ Nobody is on your back telling you what to do and when to do it. So you get to be more independant, which is kinda cool, eh? Figuring out what the heck I was going to do in terms of my career – that was the most difficult part of it.

    Oh, and that picture with the toilet seat is the funniest thing I have seen in a while! 😀

    • Hehe thanks Vee! I’m a graduate! 🙂
      That is very interesting, thanks for telling me about that! I had no idea that Quebec requires 2 years of CEGEP before entering a University, I could see how some might like and dislike that, especially if it is expensive. It’s good that you liked it though, is it harder if you don’t know what you want to do though? That is interesting about the law too, you can’t tell at all that English isn’t your first language as I’ve told you before, I’m jealous of how bilingual you are! You make it look easy!
      It’s cool that in college people are more laid back, I imagine people are a lot more mature. It’s nice about the independence too because I’ve always been really independent with my work and make sure I get everything done well without anyone having to tell me to. For some people it will probably be more of a change though not having anyone to get on their back and care as much if they show up or not or if they do the work. And yes, I could see how figuring out what to do for a career would be the hardest part. That is probably the scariest part of college, since now is actually the time that I have to start deciding soon. I have at least one year of exploring my interests though at least before I have to start making a choice. What major and/or career did you end up deciding on by the way? I don’t remember if I’ve asked you that before or not.
      Haha, I’m glad you found it amusing! I wonder who thought of that idea, but it certainly makes for a funny picture! Thanks for your comments, they reminded me of why I love blogging again!

  5. What a happy bunch of young people! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

