The Shyness Project

Last Few Days of High School

High school is over! I can’t believe it. I’m no longer a senior, but a college student.

It went by quickly I suppose, but at the same time it does feel like I spent quite a bit of time at the school. I’m sad for the end, but also ready. I’ve gotten closer to some people this year who I am really going to miss, but I just have to trust that we’ll keep in touch. It’s time for a new school, new people, and a new perspective.

On the day before the last day of school I said goodbye to some of my teachers. Some of them wrote really nice things in my yearbook and I am really going to miss them.

I went to pick up my senior portfolio/scrapbook from my Lit teacher a day early afterschool because I thought he might have graded it already, but it turned out that he hadn’t. He said he was actually planning on reading through all of mine because he really likes my writing, and I was flattered and said oh well I can pick it up tomorrow then if you want. He said that’s alright and that he knew I was busy.

He asked me to hand it to him though and he went through each page and I briefly explained each of the various experiences and people I wrote about. I asked him to sign my yearbook, and he scrawled a really nice message that said he is absolutely positive that I will positively impact the world and that he counts himself super fortunate to have had me as a student. He said he hoped that he didn’t let me down and drew a smiley face. I opened my arms for a hug and he stood up from his chair and we hugged. I told him that he was one of my favorite teachers, and he said that I was one of his favorite students and that he thinks we see a lot of things eye to eye. He asked me about college plans as I was walking out the door and I talked about that a little bit before I had to go. I’m going to miss him; he’s really down to earth and cares about living life to the fullest.

After school I talked to my brother Andrew on the phone for a while and we caught up on a lot of things. We hadn’t talked in a long time. He was flying in to see my graduation so I would see him the next day.

I then went to my SAGE (Students for the Advancement of Global Entrepreneurship) club advisor’s house that evening as she wanted to present us with graduation cords for our hard work last year in fundraising for a water chlorinator in Haiti, for the water audits, first aid kit to Mauli, KIVA loans, etc. She told us that she wanted to reward us for all the difference we had made in the lives of so many people world-wide, and that not many young people could say that. At her house the three other girls and I talked about classes, graduation, and SAGE mostly for an hour or so. She presented us with green and gold cords and hugged and kissed us as we left and told us to keep in touch.

The last day of school was sort of boring as we had graduation practice all day, where we learned how to walk and shake hands, which I guess they think we’re not capable of knowing how to do. Afterschool was fun though since I got to hang out with Emily at her house. It was nice and I liked hanging out with her one-on-one because that’s when I seem to get to know people best. We had pizza for lunch and played this Wii sports game that she beat me at. Later on Alice and Krishna came over too and we all went to the park to play this game and take a bunch of funny pictures. We watched some old videos Emily had made with friends and talked about camping plans. It was fun and I’m glad we all got to spend time together because I don’t know Alice or Krishna as well. We all got along well though and I enjoyed hanging out with them. I will write about graduation day and grad night soon, because there is a lot to say about that!

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Last Few Days of High School

  1. Congrats on being a grad 🙂
    Was the shyness project a senior year thing or a 2011 year thing?

  2. lawyerchik1 on said:

    Congratulations, Brittany!! Good for you!! It sounds like you have had a good, solid senior year and that you are ready to tackle the next steps in your life!! Awesome!

  3. Congratulations! What a great accomplishment! 🙂

  4. Congratulations, young lady! The world is now your oyster.
    Have fun!

  5. Congratulations Brittany! If you decide to run for President, I’ll vote for you!

Leave a Reply

