The Shyness Project

Dressing Confidently

This weekend has turned out to be really busy despite the fact that I didn’t have any plans set up until last minute.  I’ve decided to dress more confidently this month and wear clothes that will probably bring me more attention and compliments.  I usually dress pretty modestly and comfortably in jeans, a t-shirt, and tennis shoes, but I’ve decided to switch things up a little.

On Thursday I wore flip flops/sandals and capris, with a nice top and jacket.  I got a compliment on the jacket.

On Friday I wore shorts and a nice top with a big sparkly heart on it, and got a compliment on the shirt.

Saturday I wore a nice flowery top when I went out to breakfast with some friends, got a compliment, and I got asked to prom that morning too.  🙂

On Sunday(today) I wore a Marvel “I Need A Hero” shirt for WonderCon which I got some compliments on from superheros and Star Wars characters.  I thought it’d be cool to dress up but didn’t decide to go until the day before so didn’t have time to prepare for that.  I did ask many people for pictures though, something I would have been too shy to ask before.  Everyone was really nice and happy to take pictures with me.  It was awesome. 🙂

Right now I’m making gradual switches but eventually I want to try wearing some dresses and skirts to school and see how it feels when people note the difference.  It’s not something I’m all that comfortable wearing to school and I think I’ll get a lot of attention from friends wanting to encourage me to keep wearing clothes like that, but it’ll be something to put me out of my comfort zone.

I was also thinking of doing some other things that will boost confidence, like exercising more, eating healthier, practicing positive self talk, and compiling a group of things (emails, comments, photos, cards) that make me feel happy and proud to be me.  It should be a good month for building self-confidence!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Dressing Confidently

  1. YEA! You got asked to prom! What are you going to WEAR! And All that pretty hair! And let’s talk about the DATE! 🙂

    I hope you are doling out the compliments as easily as they are coming in! For me, it’s hard to give a compliment….

    • Haha yeah I have to figure all that out soon, I only have a week or two. I just like him as a friend though, we’ve known each other a long time. 🙂

      Yeah I’ve been giving out compliments too, a lot of people have been dressing up more now too that it’s finally warm outside. I can see how sometimes it can be a little hard to give a compliment though, depending on the situation and person.

  2. 1. Yay for a prom date!!
    2. Awesome that you’re consciously trying to dress better. I always find that it helps me feel better just by taking a few extra moments for myself in the morning. That way, I can hold my head up high when I’m out of the house, knowing that I look good.
    3. Great job at asking for pictures at Wondercon. I don’t know how many cons you’ve been to, but most of the people who dress up LOVE to have their pictures taken.
    4. I highly recommend dressing up the next time you go to a con. It feels great and everyone compliments you, asks for your picture, etc.

    Keep it up. You’re doing a great job!

    • Haha thanks!

      Yeah what you wear can have a big impact on how you feel about yourself I’ve noticed. Like when I dressed poorly when I went out on my own for a run I felt pretty self-conscious, but other times when I’ve dressed up for swing dance I feel pretty confident.

      Thanks! It was actually my first convention, but I hope to go to some more in the future because it was a lot of fun!

      Have you dressed up before for a convention? What did you dress up as if so? Sounds cool, I will just have to figure out something to dress up as the next time I go. Wondercon will be another year away and Comic Con is in the summer in San Diego, so I don’t know if I’ll be able to go to that depending on my summer plans.

      Thank you, I appreciate your encouragement! 🙂

Leave a Reply

