The Shyness Project

School Update

Here’s an update on how my week at school has been:

On Monday I didn’t raise my hand for anything despite a few opportunities that I feel like I should have taken. There are some times when I have a harder time getting out of my comfort zone and raising my hand, and this was one of those days.  I did have some other accomplishments though.

I talked to my 4th period teacher about community college when he came by, and I usually don’t say much to him so he thinks I’m especially quiet.  He was passing back my report card and asked if I was going to UC Berkeley or something, and I told him how I was thinking I’d probably go to community college.  We discussed this for a while and I told him how I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do yet career-wise and it seemed like a smarter choice for me.  He went to community college too and thinks it’s a really good way to go.  He told me about some of his past students who went to community college and what not, and we talked for a good while.

In 6th period my teacher was talking to the guy next to me about college sports and he mentioned intramurals.  After listening for a while and having nothing else to do really because I was already done with the assignment, I turned to face them both and asked about intramurals.  From there on I was in on the conversations, though I only added something every once in a while and mostly listened. I didn’t want to invade their conversation which was why it took me a while to finally chime in, but of course it was fine and I was welcomed to add to the conversation.

On Tuesday I raised my hand first period by asking a question about a project.  I was nervous and my heart was beating fast again, but I just told myself that this was just life flowing through me.  I tried to take a deep breath, and then raised my hand.  It cleared up my question, and I felt good that I asked and it was in front of the class.

On Wednesday(today) I raised my hand second period when my teacher asked for improvements to make on a website selling cars.  I said the site needed to have a phone number on the contact page, and needed some sort of color scheme.  There were a lot of opportunities to raise my hand 6th period today, but for some reason I was back in one of those moods again where I just felt like sticking to myself.

So at least I now know that it is possible for me to raise my hand if I put my mind to it, even if I can’t always do it every time I feel like I should.  I still get the racing heart and nervous feeling, but it seems like it’s gotten better.  At least I haven’t started shaking since the very first time!  🙂

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “School Update

  1. kindamixedup on said:

    wow you’ve been pretty busy ^^ “There were a lot of opportunities to raise my hand 6th period today, but for some reason I was back in one of those moods again where I just felt like sticking to myself.” I guess it would be naïve to believe everything is going to change over night and stay like that forever. There will be those times where anybody would just not feel in the mood to expose her/himself constantly to stressful situations. Let’s see this as a legitimate break. I don’t know if it’s the same for you but exposure to those situations that make me feel anxious take out so much of my energy! ^^ Some days I talk to everybody, I socialize, I get involved in one or two things, i might speak in public, and do this and that… And there are those days where I just shut down and keep to myself. I personnally don’t see a problem with that. I call it “me time”. 🙂

    • Yeah I am like you too, some days I’m really outgoing and friendly while other days I mostly just want to do my work quietly and stick to myself. I like how you call it “me time”, I ought to start thinking of it that way too. 🙂 On most days I’m somewhere in between though.

    • Christy on said:

      I agree with this, and it was almost just what I was going to mention. You don’t *always* have to push. Sometimes, yes, but other times, let yourself sit back and recover. Too much and you’ll exhaust yourself and destroy your desire/ability to do even more.

      • Thanks, it is important to not over do it and get myself too worked up. With everything I do I just have to take it one step at a time and allow myself some recovery room as you both suggest. Thanks for your comment!

  2. Not shaking is always a good thing!

Leave a Reply

