The Shyness Project

Two in a Row

In first period today I raised my hand to answer a simple math question! 🙂  I did feel a little nervous beforehand and hesitated once the room got silent.  But I did it quick enough where I didn’t have too much time to think about it. She didn’t see my hand though, so I just said it aloud surprisingly enough.  I said how to solve the problem and the answer that you would get.

It was a good thing I answered because she was starting to think we couldn’t do simple math.  She then asked if anyone had a calculator, and she looked at me and saw I had one.  So I offered to do the calculations that she asked me to put in and I read them aloud.

I spoke more all period than anyone else did in the class, though after a while I thought some of the others were probably getting annoyed with me.  But if they thought that oh well, that’s the second time I’ve ever raised my hand in her class so it’s not like I say much often.

It felt good, and the more I spoke aloud the more confident I became and could keep speaking.  I even spoke without raising my hand since most of my teacher’s attention was on me and she sort of expected me to keep answering I think.  Usually I always feel the need to raise my hand to answer questions because I’ve gotten so used to it over the years, but now in my senior year classes and college class it seems like it’s not really expected anymore.  That’s probably because by now the teachers figure we know when to talk so we’re not interrupting.  I still prefer raising my hand though.

Does anyone else feel like they still want to raise their hand even when they don’t really have to?

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “Two in a Row

  1. lawyerchik1 on said:

    Yes. 🙂 In fact, I sometimes still do even in meetings, which seems a little silly in retrospect, but it works.

  2. I’m still a hand raiser 🙂 (and to this day when I run into one of my former teachers…I will call them “Mr” or Mrs”) call me old school, but I think respect goes a long ways in greasing the wheels of relationships. I see you’ve been a busy blogger!

    • Cool, glad to hear that you are a hand raiser as well Doug! Thanks for commenting, it’s been a while since I’ve gotten a comment from you! 🙂

      Haha yep, I try and keep this pretty updated. I still have a bunch more thought-type posts I have written up that I want to post at some point when the time is right…

  3. I attend community classes that often are quite large groups and if you want to be heard or ask a question you raise your hand.
    I think in your class it was a show of respect to you that your teacher was interacting with you without this formality. It demonstrated that you were being appropriate, and that you are generally a cool person!

    • Yeah that’s what I expected in my community college class too which is quite large, but it seems like it’s not really expected with my psych teacher. Before I can think of raising my hand sometimes someone has already spoken the answer and I feel a little silly for trying to raise my hand.

      Cool I never thought of it that way, thanks gmom! 🙂 Most people don’t usually answer her questions so she probably figured since I was on a roll I should keep going.

  4. kindamixedup on said:

    Wow, good job! 🙂 That’s often what ends up happening in most cases. Once you confront your shyness or your fear, you realize that it’s not that bad after all and you can do it and do it well on top of that.
    keep up the good work!
    take care

    • Hehe thanks! 🙂 Yeah it’s weird, at first this seemed like this was going to be nearly impossible but now that I’ve actually decided to focus on this one thing and go for it, it’s changed everything. It’s like I can do whatever I put my mind to or something, it’s a great feeling. 🙂 Hopefully I can keep it up!
      Thanks for commenting, and it’s nice to meet you!

  5. Awesome post! Your light is shining brighter than ever.

  6. Yes, even as a senior and Prefect in my last year of high school I raised my hand.. It just felt so rude not too! I’m pretty sure I would still do it too, but i’m doing my degree via distance learning so I don’t get to test it out!! Hahaha!
    Great posts – please keep writing – you are a great inspiration!

    • Thanks Matthew 🙂 Glad you were able to raise your hand in high school even if you don’t have the chance to try it out now in your online classes! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

