The Shyness Project

From Teenager to Adult

Today is my 18th birthday, and it’s been a pretty good day.  I got some really nice gifts from friends and family, and I appreciate those who wished me a happy birthday.  I guess I’ll have to update my age on my “about me” page now!  It still hasn’t quite hit me that I’m 18, but I’m sure soon I’ll get used to it. I’ve come a long ways over the years, and still have a lot more growing to do.

My brother Andrew called me tonight, and we caught up on what we’d been up to.  For some reason I mentioned that I had a blog going that was a one-year project, and he was interested in seeing it.  I couldn’t bring myself to say what it was about, but said that it was a personal blog and I wasn’t sure how he’d react to it so I hadn’t told him about it before.  I think that came off wrong though and he misinterpreted what I meant.  I just couldn’t say the words “shyness project” because I was afraid I’d get emotional, and wasn’t sure what kind of response I’d get.  It was a start to telling someone about it though.  I’ve hesitated to tell anyone because I don’t want my writing to become too careful or restricted. I want to be able to be honest about how I’m feeling and what I’m doing.  I’m sure he’d be supportive, but like I’ve said before, I tend to avoid conversations about my shyness except on here.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “From Teenager to Adult

  1. lawyerchik1 on said:

    Happy Birthday! I hope you have a wonderful day, and that this is the first of many happy birthdays for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

