The Shyness Project

Making the Call

Lately I’ve been spending a lot of time with friends, especially on the weekends.  I think the best thing I can do is just say yes to invites and arrange hang outs with friends.  Everything else seems to happen pretty naturally.  I also need to reconnect and catch up with those who I haven’t talked to in a while.

Earlier in the week I decided to call up a friend who I hadn’t talked to in a while to try and arrange to hang out this weekend.  Even though she’s my friend, I still felt a nervous feeling in the pit of my stomach.  I was concerned about calling out of the blue and wasn’t clear on my plans for the weekend and what I wanted to do.  I know I shouldn’t feel this way, but I do sometimes.

I called her up, and I ended up getting her answering machine after one ring.  All that anxiousness was for nothing, I thought.  I noticed she was online for Facebook, and I could have easily just messaged her there, but I decided to try calling again.  This time the phone rang longer and she answered, explaining that her phone had died and was recharging.  She had a pretty busy weekend, but we found a day where we could meet up.  I had said yes earlier to an event and she was going too, so we decided we’d see each other then.

Email or Facebook is a lot easier for me, but I think it’s better to call people at least every once in a while.  It can be nerve-racking for me, but it’s hardly ever gone as bad as I think it will.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Making the Call

  1. pretty sure you read my post where I described picking up the phone and calling the girl who eventually became my wife…so you KNOW I can relate to what you’re describing here. Remember, courage is not the absence of fear, but the ability to do the right thing in spite of it.

  2. Brittany, I discovered you by reading your guest appearance on DM’s blog. I admire your courage and determination to tackle shyness…and I’m not just saying that. Turning it into a year-long project is amazing! I have a feeling that you are on the verge of breaking out of something that has held you back, and breaking IN to an astonishing future. The pastor of our church tells of how painfully shy he used to be…he never would have considered speaking in public. Now, he’s an excellent preacher! Who knows what is in store for you! One thing I’m sure of…the world is rooting for you to be all that God intended! Many blessings, Grace

    • Thank you so much Grace!! 🙂 I really appreciate your kind words, they mean a lot to me! That’s awesome about the pastor of your church, maybe sometime you can ask him how he conquered his fear. Thanks for the support, this comment brought a big smile to my face!

  3. lawyerchik1 on said:

    Just wanted to check in and see how you’re doing!! I did the same thing a week or two ago – I just called a friend up and ended up going to her house to watch the Super Bowl with her and her husband and a group of her friends/family. I have another friend that I haven’t talked to in a number of years, and I’ve been thinking about calling but I’m not there yet…. Baby steps, though, right? Have a good week!!

    Cheryl

    • Thanks for checking up on me!! 🙂 I’m glad to hear that you and your friend got together this weekend! And yes, baby steps are a good way to go. Last night I tried calling my friend who moved to Colorado last year, though he didn’t answer. That call was a little more nerve-wracking though, since I haven’t talked to him in a while. Thanks, hope you have a good week too Cheryl!

  4. Phone-tag is fun, right?

Leave a Reply

