The Shyness Project

Tried to Add Speech Class…

Well tonight I went off to the community college center again, this time in hopes(sort of) of adding a speech class.  I went to the class and sat down nervously in the 2nd row.  I seated myself one chair away from a guy who looked to be in his mid thirties, early forties. So far I’ve mostly been talking to women because it’s easier for me I guess being a girl and all, so I decided to try and talk to a guy.

At first I thought I wasn’t going to end up talking to him.  I felt pretty awkward, and instead pretended to focus on the speech book and flip through the pages.  I glanced at him from time to time to see if he might want to talk, but he too was flipping through the speech book and reading parts of it.  Eventually I finally said “This is the only book we need right?” as I pointed to the book we both held.  He looked up and smiled and said yeah, and that he had asked the teacher that too.  I said that’s good and he said yeah it’s pretty cheap too, which is nice.  I asked him if he was already registered for the class, and he said he was the first on the list to add, and I told him that I was trying to add too but was further down the list.  Then the class started and the teacher started speaking.

The teacher said that he wasn’t going to be able to add many people, and read off a list of names of the people he couldn’t add that signed up.  Unfortunately, I was one of the names he called, so I had to gather my things and leave.  I was sort of disappointed because he seemed like a pretty nice teacher and was understanding that nobody is really looking forward to this class and he wanted to ease everyone into speaking slowly.  I think I’ll take his speech class another semester.  I thought taking a speech class would be great for part of the Shyness Project, but unfortunately I didn’t get in.  I do have to confront my public speaking fears though, so I’m thinking of other options like Toastmasters that I can do to put myself in that feared situation.  I hate presentations and public speaking, but I know it will be helpful for me if I at least try.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Tried to Add Speech Class…

  1. Brittany, I just read all of your posts. I am excited for you. You are definitely on the right track. I was 16 when I made my first baby steps toward addressing the shyness in my life, and here I sit 30 plus years later. if you have any specific questions, let me know. I can tell by what you are already doing, you will grow. My daughter angie (who also commented on my original blog post) told me, one of the biggest ways she was forced to grow was when she got a job with a Christian businessman who hired her to answer the phone for his business.

    • Thanks so much for reading all my posts!! That means a lot, I’ve never really had a blog like this before so I’m hoping that my writing is interesting to others and not just me. I’m still not sure how you get more views and how you get more people to see it though, do you have any tips on that?

      Thank you, I’m getting pretty excited about it too, especially since I’ve managed to follow through with it for a month already. It’s easy to make a resolution, but it’s hard to stick with it over an extended period of time. In the beginning I had a few doubts that I would be able to follow through, which is part of the reason why I made this blog. I was hoping to connect with other bloggers that have experience with shyness or even social anxiety so we could all learn from each other.

      That’s interesting that you were about the same age as I am when you decided you wanted to address your shyness too. I’ll definitely let you know if I have any questions, and I’ll be checking more of your blog out soon. I imagine getting a job where your daughter had to answer the phone all day would be a good growing experience for her and for anyone else who is shy. It’s one of those things that would be obviously uncomfortable and something you don’t want to do, but it would be helpful. I’m planning on addressing my phone shyness in a later month because that’s something that I need to address too.

      Thanks again for writing to me, and hope to hear from you again soon! I’m assuming that your name is Douglas from your email?

      • yep, (Douglas)…which was a name I hated when I was your age. (interrelated to some of that baggage I had feeding the shyness)

        Tips for increasing traffic to your site?…# 1 tip I would have is visiting other bloggers you respect and leaving comments.

        this in turns makes their visitors curious as to who you are.
        Another activity I have done in the past is invite other bloggers to make a guest appearance on my blog.

        I’ve done that a few times early on.. You could ask them a series of questions to answer, or just ask them to write a guest post on a certain topic, etc…in the end you still have the final say-so as to what you post on your blog.

        If you’re interested, I would be glad to have you as a guest on my blog…let me know what you think. DM

  2. Nice to meet you Douglas. I sometimes had annoyances with my name too growing up.

    Cool, that was actually what I was thinking of doing. You and another blogger Faith are the only ones I’ve reached out to so far, but I’m planning to write to others who have blogs similar to mine too.

    That’s interesting about the guest blogger idea, I would have never thought of that. That would be great if I could be a guest on your blog! Let me know if you want me to write about something or answer questions. Thanks! 🙂

  3. Better luck next class! At least you struck up a conversation with a stranger who wasn’t a weirdo! Every step counts.

Leave a Reply

