The Shyness Project

Volunteer Weekend

This weekend I spent every day doing some volunteer work.  On Friday, I volunteered with Eco Club after school to sort through the recylcling bins we set up at our school.  Unfortunately, people don’t really put their recycling in there, they also like to put in the rest of their lunches and a lot of other crap.  So the bins are moldy and stinky, with moldy oranges, sandwiches, and various liquids.  So all that stuff is sorted into a trash pile, and then we sort plastic bottles, glass bottles, caps, and cans.  I think I was sorting the bins for 2 and a half hours or so, but I didn’t mind because some of my friends were there and I actually enjoyed it.  Volunteer work is a lot more fun when you do it with friends.

On Saturday, I volunteered with Interact Club to spend an hour cleaning up 7th street.  We basically just pick up trash and put it in garbage bags.  I worked with a girl that I’m sort of friends with (I don’t know her well) and I worked to keep conversations going with her.  After that I had to drop my brother off at the library, and I spent the rest of the day at home, taking notes out of my psychology book in preparation for the next class.  I also watched a 2 hour anime movie after working on psych for 3 hours straight, since I needed a break.

Today(Sunday), I received a facebook message from an Interact member saying there was a volunteer opportunity today at 3pm, so I offered to go, and got my friend Pearl to go too.  In the morning I was doing more psych stuff, and when 2:40 came Pearl and I went to the house where we were supposed to volunteer.  We met Theresa, who was in need of the help, and I asked her what she was doing and more about her event.  She told me it was a PTSA auction to raise money for the middle school, and she needed help sorting the tickets.  She wanted us to tear off the tickets in groups of 25 and bundle them so they’d be all set for the auction.  So Pearl and I did that, and it was tedious, but still fun because we got a chance to talk.  We haven’t hung out in a while, last year we hung out so much and were really close.  So it was good talking about things, and we worked and talked for 3 and a half hours, then decided we should be getting home.  Afterward our necks and backs were sore from leaning over the table for so long, but it was worth it.

So this weekend was a lot of volunteering and a lot of psychology.  I’d say it was a pretty good weekend. 🙂

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Volunteer Weekend

  1. You’re a very special young lady. Between volunteering, writing a self-improvement blog and being a good friend and student, you’ve done more for the world in your short life than most people do in their entire existence! Good for you.

Leave a Reply

